Pressure cookers?

Discussion in 'Aphrodite's Kitchen' started by desertgirl, Apr 11, 2011.

1. desertgirl

desertgirl Active Member

I received a pressure cooker as a wedding gift two years ago. I have no experience using one, and was slightly intimated by it, so it's been sitting under a cabinet since it was opened.

Today, I stumbled on a pressure cooker recipe, and was amazed by the time given to cook stew was 6-8 minutes! I downloaded more recipes, and rice dishes in under 10 minutes??? Cooked potatoes in 8 minutes? I'm boon-doogled. Is that really possible? Are pressure cookers that great?

My husband and I usually make dinner from scratch every night, and sometimes we don't eat until around 7pm (which is too late for people that go to bed before 10pm)! Seems like a pressure cooker might be a miracle tool.

Anyone have any pressure cooking tips? And recipes? I'm pulling the cooker out tonight to make something. Not sure what yet.
  2. Myste

Myste New Member

I have one and love it. Keep in mind that the 6-8 minutes or whatever is time AT pressure. You have to get it boiling, get the lid on it, and get it up to pressure. Still, it's a heck of a lot better than 30-45 minutes or whatever! I've made stews, beans, soups etc and they all turn out good. Think of it as a crock-pot on steroids!

I use mine fairly often for making chicken stock - some people poo-poo using a pressure cooker because the stock ends up cloudy but I could care less - it's yummy and flavorful and makes wonderful soups/stews/etc. I freeze the stock in 2c portions with about 1c split into 2T portions in an ice cube tray. Any time I get a rotisserie chicken I save the carcass.

My absolute most favorite pressure cooker recipe is "refried" beans though. I never buy canned ones anymore because mine equal or beat most restaurant ones too. I use this recipe.