What does cramping feel like?

Discussion in 'Reproductive Health' started by keppers, Dec 31, 2009.

1. keppers

keppers New Member

I know you must be thinking this is the stupiest question, but I am really wondering what does cramping feel like? I have this lurking feeling that all of those "stomach aches" I thought I was having when I was a college student or after college might not have all been stomach aches. I'm not sure why I never considered that the "stomach aches" might be related to my menstrual cycle and not digestion problems. I think my mom must have gave me the impression she never had any PMS symptoms and I assumed I was the same way? At any rate, I paid no attention to my cycle at all, so it is highly probable that I was having cycle related pains and didn't realize it.

So here is my main question--does cramping feel like a stomach ache?

Also, what are other PMS symptoms that people have and when? I am wondering if nausea can be a PMS symptom. Sometimes, I also had really bad nausea in college. However, I couldn't throw up, and I'm not sure what it was coming from. (I wasn't sexually active at the time, so there was no possibility of pregnancy).

And what does ovulation pain feel like and how does it differ from cramping?

This all comes to today. I think maybe today and a few times in past months I have had cramping. But again, I'm still not sure, especially since I might have been misdiagnosing in the past.
  2. GreenTea

GreenTea Super Moderator Staff Member

I'd say menstrual cramping feels like a stomach ache, only it's centered a little lower. The very first time I got my period--on a seventh grade field trip with no access to restrooms and wearing white pants; now there's a story!--I thought I had a stomachache. Later, when I discovered the blood, I realized the ache had a slightly different quality to it. But it wasn't that distinguishable at first.